Descubre todos nuestros eventos deportivos Descubre todos nuestros eventos deportivos

News Center - News:

New Grand Winners to be decided in Karate 1-Premier League Tokyo


As the 2018 Karate 1-Premier League is coming to an end, the new Grand Winners of the first-class Karate events will be determined in the last tournament of the season to take place next week in Tokyo. While the owners of “Best of the Best” award will be announced in the Japanese capital, the trophies of the 2018 Grand Winners will be presented in a special ceremony to be held in Paris (France) in January 2019. 

Tokyo will host the closing event of the 2018 Karate 1-Premier League from October 12 to 14. In this final Karate 1-Premier League tournament of the year, fans of the sport will get to know the new Grand Winners. 

The “Best of the Best” awards recognise the top competitors in each category in this year’s edition of Karate’s first-class series of international tournaments. Competitors receive points for their results in the different events, and the leaders of the standings at the end of the season get to win the Grand Winners distinction. The karatekas that are awarded this recognition have the honour of wearing the karate-gi with the golden embroidery in next year’s edition of the competition.  

The quest to become new Grand Winners is fierce, with most of the categories up for grabs. Only Sandra Sanchez of Spain in Female Kata and Rafael Aghayev of Azerbaijan in Male Kumite -75kg have acquired enough difference of points to claim the Grand Winners crown in their categories even before the start of the last event of the season. 

The new heroes of the sport will be announced on Sunday, October 14, at the end of the competition. The trophies that distinguish the new Grand Winners will be presented in a special ceremony to be celebrated during the opening event of the 2019 season to be held in Paris (France) from January 25 to 27. 

The current Grand Winners are: Damian Quintero (Spain), Sadriddin Saymatov (Uzbekistan), Andres Madera (Venezuela), Stanislav Horuna (Ukraine), Ryutaro Araga (Japan) and Sajad Ganjzadeh (Iran) in male categories, and Sandra Sanchez (Spain), Serap Ozcelik (Turkey), Anzhelika Terliuga (Ukraine), Xiaoyan Yin (China), Irina Zaretska (Azerbaijan) and Ayumi Uekusa (Japan) in female categories. 

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more